Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the 2015 HAPA Scholarship recipients!

HAPA High School Scholarship Winners:


Adriana Jones – The recipient of the Rebecca B. Hall Memorial Scholarship, Adriana graduated as one out of six valedictorians at Farrington High School this year. She loves to sing, rap, read, and sped time with her family and friends. Adriana plans to attend Pacific University in Oregon in the fall and major in pre-pharmacy. Her career goal is to become a geriatric pharmacist or gerontologist because she is passionate about the volunteer work she does at several geriatric facilities within her neighborhood. 



Jaycie Murata – Jacyie graduated from Kamehameha Schools Kapalama. She is from the island of Kaua`i and has been boarding at Kamehameha Schools since her freshman year. Throughout her high school career Jaycie participated in Speech and Debate, the Headmaster’s Ambassador Program, Fashion Club, and Student Leadership. In the fall, she will attend the University of San Francisco as a Political Science major.


Jin Ling Yan – Jin attended President William McKinley High School where she participated in Science Fair, Lea Club, Ignition, Track and Field, Cross Country, Chamber Chorus and has served as president of her high school’s Vietnamese Club. In her free time, Jin loves to bake, draw, sing, dance and volunteer for community service projects. Jin plans to attend the University of Hawaii at Manoa in the fall.



HAPA Collegiate Scholarship Winners:


Jacque Law Scholarship Winner:

Wakako Joriuchi – Wakako graduated from Sacred Hearts Academy in 2012 and is currently attending Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland, where she is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience. She was initiated into the Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women in 2013 has served as the Vice President of Fraternity Development as well as the Health and Wellness Chair and on the Initiation Committee. In addition, she works as an undergraduate research assistant at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in a neurology lab. Wakako is also a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician and volunteers on the Hopkins Emergency Response Unit, serves as the Internal Vice President of the Nu Rho Psi Undergraduate Neuroscience Society, a dancer on the JHU Eclectics, and a member of Hopkins Hawaii Ohana. After graduation, Wakako plans to go to medical school to pursue her dream of becoming a pediatric emergency physician.


Leah Rowland Scholarship Winner:

Sydney Bivert – Sydney is currently serving as the president of the Alpha Gamma Delta chapter at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. She is from a small farming town in Northern California where she lived with her parents and younger brother. Sydney is majoring in Family Resources with a minor in Women’s Studies and English and will be graduating in May 2016 after earning her bachelor’s degree in only 3 years. After graduation, Sydney plans to become a certified Child Life Therapist. In her free time, Sydney likes to explore the island of Oahu.



2014 HAPA Scholarship Recipients:


Nona Sarah McBean Scholarship Winner: Jamie Hearn (Aiea High School)

HAPA High School Scholarship Winners: Kamrie Koi;

Casey Morrissey (Iolani School);

Ka ram Yang (Leilehua High School);

Lorelei Zabanal (Maryknoll School)

HAPA Collegiate Scholarship Winners: Veronica Glen (Loyola Marymount University, Pi  Beta Phi);

Ashley Cooper (Chapman University, Gamma Phi Beta)

Jacque Law Scholarship Winner: Cara Bertelmann (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Alpha Delta Pi)

Leah Rowland Scholarship Winner: Kana Lei Veney (University of Hawaii, Alpha Gamma Delta)


2013 HAPA Scholarship Recipients:


HAPA High School Scholarship Winner: Leena K. Batunbacal

HAPA Collegiate Scholarship Winners: Alana Malia Calhoun- (Colorado State University, Pi  Beta Phi);

Ashley Lukashevsky (University of Southern California, Delta Gamma)

Jacque Law Scholarship Winner: Summer Kalei  Borowski (University of Denver, Delta Zeta)

Leah Rowland Scholarship Winner: Victoria-Kamalani (Tori) Garnett (University of Hawaii, Alpha Gamma Delta)


Leave a comment